Tuesday, February 15, 2005

Class Handout

PowerPoint Class
DTS Media Center
John S. Oliver
September 2011


Training session description

Beginners are welcomed. Zero or little previous experience is required for this class. During the course of our time together you will be gradually taken through the steps needed to create a short slide show. You will be given a tour of the most used options.

Bonus

As a bonus you will be provided with an a link to a blog with an abundance of links to resources you can use to continue learning how to create slide shows and publish them online. And there are links to alternative slide show software and online services for creating as well as publishing slide shows.

Adaptable

These steps are especially for MS PowerPoint 2008 yet can apply to other versions of PowerPoint. And they can be adapted to the alternative slide show programs.


______________________________________________________________________________

Instructor’s orientation questions

What is your previous experience with PowerPoint?

How do you plan to use PowerPoint?

What do you want to be sure that I cover?

Launch PowerPoint

MAC = Click PowerPoint icon in the dock at the bottom of the screen (Find orange capital “P”.)

(If the dock is not visible then move cursor to dock at bottom of the screen.)

PC = Start > Programs > Microsoft Office > PowerPoint


(Sometimes Project Gallery comes up, then choose PowerPoint Presentation.)


At launch, Title Slide is usually the default layout.



Fill in the Title Slide

Title is “Learning by Doing”

Subtitle is your name and this date


Save by going to File menu > Save As

Move to appropriate folder (perhaps Desktop or Documents)

MAC = Documents

PC = My Documents

Give this presentation a unique name (instead of Presentation 1)

Power Point extension is “.pptx”

FYI

Word extension is “.docx”

Excel extension is “.elsx”


Remember to
SAVE EARLY and SAVE OFTEN


Add New Slide

From the Insert menu > New Slide

Or

MAC = Icon with green plus sign above the workspace

PC = Icon white box with a sparkle

Consider the Formatting Palette

If this is not visible then launch from View menu > Formatting Palette

OR click Toolbox icon above the workspace

Choose the Title and Content

MAC = Title and Content is the default setting

(Ignore the icons in the center of the slide and just start typing.)

PC = Title and Text

In the Title area put “Introducing Myself”

In the Text part put any of your personal information

(This is just to help learning by doing.)

à Hometown

à How long in Dallas

à Family names and ages of children

à Job and/or major

à Hobby or special interest

The reason this slide is offered first is to remind you to establish your rapport and credibility with the audience. You can use a slide like this (or the person that introduces you) can mention key ideas that might be of interest to those about to receive your message. They can quickly establish that you are qualified as a subject matter expert on the material that follows.

Add a New Slide

From the Insert menu > New Slide

Or

MAC = Icon with green plus sign

Or MAC =Shift Command + N

PC = Icon white box with a sparkle


Choose the Title and Content

MAC = Title and Content is the default setting

(Ignore the icons in the center of the slide and just start typing.)

PC = Title and Text

In the Title area put “Shoot for 24 – 7 – 7 ”.

In the Text part put any of your personal information.

(This is just to help learning by doing.)

à “24 point minimum”

à “7 words per line maximum”

à “7 lines per slide maximum”

à “visuals reinforce audio”

à “less is more”

Choose the Title and Content

MAC = Title and Content is the default setting

It looks like one photo in front of many photos.

When you mouse over it the ID says ‘Insert Clip Art’.

PC = Title, Text and Content

Drill into the menus to find the image you want

In the Title area put “Use Clip Art Layout”.

On the text side write “I like this clip art”.

Then “Found by clicking on the icon.”

Click on the icon and choose a clipart image.

Make modifications using the pop up menu.

Add a New Slide

From the Insert menu > New Slide

Or icon

Or MAC =Shift Command + N

PC = Ctrl + M

Choose the Picture Slide layout

Format menu > slide layout

PC = Title, Text and Content

MAC = Title and Content is the default setting

Click on the icon in the center of the slide.

It looks like one big photo.

Click on it.

Drill into the menus to find the image you want

In the Title area put “Chosen Picture”

Make modifications using the pop up menu.



Views (experiment using the buttons on the lower left part)

Normal View

Slide Sorter View

Slide Show



Display Toolbars

(Usually the default toolbars are Standard and Formatting like in Word.)

(If those are absent then this is how to display them.)

View menu > Toolbars > Standard & Formatting (these are the basics)

Later view and experiment with others – especially Drawing, Picture and WordArt


Explore slide layout options


Find Design Template menu

Icon with exclamation mark over the slide

Or
Format Menu > slide design

Choose Design Template

Look at the options

Click on a few

Pick one that you like

Choose the Bulleted List layout

PC = Title and Text

MAC = Title and Content

In the Title area put “Modify Bulleted List”

In the text field write

“Level 1”

“Level 2”

“Level 3”

“Tab - to move right”

“Shift Tab - to move left”



Highlight the text – use mouse OR hold down shift with arrow keys

Place flashing cursor at front of each line

Hit Tab key 1, 2 the 3 times

Notice how it moves right and changes

Then hit Tab key while holing down the shift key


Add a New Slide

From the Insert menu > New Slide

Or icon


Choose Bulleted List layout

PC = Title and Text

MAC = Bulleted List

In the Title area put “Modifying the Font”


In the text field write

“Text 1”

“Text 2”

“Text 3”


Highlight the text – use mouse OR hold down shift with arrow keys

change font color

Format menu > font > color > more colors > button of colors

change font size

Format menu > font > change font size

change the font itself

Format menu > font > select different font


Add a New Slide

From the Insert menu > New Slide

Or icon
Choose the Blank Slide layout

This time you will create a Title and Bulleted list from scratch

Add Text Box

Insert menu > Text Box

Or Text Box icon above the tabs in MAC

Left click in top left of where you want text box

Keep holding mouse button down

Move to bottom right

Release mouse button

Type in text box like a title on a slide

In the Title area put “Create Title and Bulleted List Layout”

Add another text box

Type in text like a bulleted list and add bullets

In the Bulleted List area put

“Bullet 1”

“Bullet 2”

“Bullet 3”

Place the blinking cursor at the beginning of each line of text

When in front of “Bullet 1” then > Bullets and Numbering drop down in Formatting Palette

PC = Format menu > Bullets and Numbering > select bullet or number sequence

OR if the format toolbar is showing you can just click the Bullet or Numbering icon

You can choose different kinds of bullets, go ahead and experiment

Repeat for “Bullet 2” and “Bullet 3”


Add a New Slide

From the Insert menu > New Slide Or icon


Add another text box

Inert menu > Picture > Clip Art

Click Insert

Insert menu > Picture > from file > select a photo

Click Insert

Resize

Resize from the corner

Cursor arrow changes from one way to two way when over right spot.

Click and hold while moving toward and away from the center of the picture.


Duplicate a Slide

From Outline View

From Slide Sorter View

Highlight slide to duplicate

Edit menu > Copy

Move cursor to where you want to paste

Edit menu > Paste

Add Audio or Video to a slide show

Display the slide where you want to add audio.

Insert Menu > Movies and Sounds > Sound from File or other option.

Experiment with the various options or consult a reference guide.

There are too many options and combinations to list here.

See additional pages in this handout for general guidelines.


Add Slide Transitions

Slide Show menu > Transitions

When serving as a speaker to a group with a laptop

Put PowerPoint in slide show mode

Connect laptop computer to the data projector

Each laptop is slightly different in how to make the connection

Usually to change the signal

PC hold down the Fcn key with F5 or F6 or F7

MAC Apple Menu > System Preferences > Displays > Detect Displays

As you press these keys wait a little while for the change

This will rotate through three options

display on laptop only

display on laptop and data projector

display on data projector only

Experiment … trial and error is the best teacher


Video in PowerPoint

On a PC, save the video as an AVI file.

On a Mac, save the video as an MOV file.

To do this, create your video or import an existing video into video editing software.

Once it is in the timeline of the software as you want it to appear in PowerPoint

(including a fade in at the beginning and a fade out at the end) export it.


For a MOV on Mac

In iMovie, go to Share and choose “Export using QuickTime”.

Under Export, Choose “Movie to QuickTime Movie”.

Save it where you can find it (perhaps on the desktop).


For an AVI on PC

In iMovie, go to Share and choose “Export using QuickTime”.

Under Export, choose “Movie to AVI”.

Click Save.

Save it where you can find it (perhaps on the desktop).

In PowerPoint, on the slide where you wish to show the video,

go to Insert Movie

and browse to find the clip you just made.

Click Choose.

A dialog box will ask if you wish to play this file automatically,

always click yes (you can change this later in custom animation).

View the slide show with the video to ensure that it plays properly.

Then adjust sizing handles if necessary.


Audio Clip in PowerPoint

A CD cannot be imported into a PowerPoint presentation.

It can be played directly from the CD or be converted to WAV files for import.


Remember that copyright rules apply.

Fair use laws state that you may use 30 seconds

or 10% of an audio clip with proper citations for educational purposes.

You may not copy a whole copyrighted song into a presentation

without written permission from the publisher.

In order to import an audio clip from a CD into a PowerPoint presentation,

you must do the following.

Import audio into iTunes or audio editing software.

Once it is in the timeline of the editing software as you want it to sound in PowerPoint

(including a fade in at the beginning and a fade out at the end) export it to iTunes.

In iTunes Highlight song under iTunes, Preferences General,

Click on Import settings

Under Import Usings

Choose Mp3 Encoder or WAV

Click OK

Click OK

Under Advanced Choose

Create MP3 version of WAV

Click on Music in left column

In iTunes search window

Type name of song – hit enter

Find the MP3 or WAV version

Drag this file to your project folder on your flash drive.

In PowerPoint, on the slide where you wish to play the audio,

go to Insert Sound and Music From File

and browse to find the WAV or MP3 file you just saved.

Click Insert.

A dialogue box will ask if you wish to play this file automatically,

always click Automatically (you can change this later in custom animation).

If you want the audio to keep playing over several slides,

go to Slide Show, custom animation.

Then under Media Options choose the song,

Media Options stop playing after ___ slides.

Type a number of slides here.

Once you go past that many slides the music will stop abruptly.

There is no way to gradually fade out.

You would have to do this in an audio editor before you export the clip.
RESOURCES

BLOG

http://powerpointhub.blogspot.com has this handout and links to useful sites

BOOKS

Teach Yourself PowerPoint 2000 Visually

You can use this as an aid to learn new skills.

Address on the shelf is T 385 . M362

Using PowerPoint in the Classroom

By Howell, Howell and Childress

Small instructional manual

Address on the shelf is LB 1028.46 .U83

PowerPoint 2007 On Demand

Comprehensive manual

Reference in Mosher Media Center

Address on the shelf is REF P 93.53 .M52

The Non-Designers Design Book

By Robin Williams

This is used as the text in the introduction to Audio Visual at the seminary

Address on the shelf is Z246.W64 2004

ISBN: 0321193857

VIDEOS

Power Point XP Essentials

3 VHS videos with associated print books

Address on the shelf is VIDEO 0632

ISBN: 0740036122
www.keystonelearning.com

Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced

WORKBOOKS

Go to large secular bookstore and explore the Computer section.

Search on Amazon www.amazon.com

Pray as you investigate.

TEMPLATES

Free PowerPoint templates

On your hard drive

Download from www.office.microsoft.com

Search on Google for ‘free PowerPoint templates’

(These may be samples of those the company sells.)

ONLINE

Free online slide show software

Zoho Show http://show.zoho.com/

Zoho Show tutorial http://show.zoho.com/help/tour/tour.html

Publish your Slide Shows online and link to your Facebook page (also learn from their examples)

Slide Share http://www.slideshare.net/

Screencast is how to add voice over PowerPoint on You Tube or your blog or your website or email

www.camtasia.com professional software with lots of features

www.screencast-o-matic.com FREE online recorder

www.camstudio.org FREE shareware but not super easy to use

www.my.brainshark.com FREE upload slide show and add voice with phone or recording

Create slide shows in collaboration with others using this service and use Adobe graphics features

https://acrobat.com/ FREE and paid accounts